Complete 57th Annual Peabody Awards (May 11, 1998)

34 recipients of the 57th Annual Peabody Awards were presented with awards on May 11, 1998 at the Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City. The winners were chosen by the Peabody board as the best in electronic media for the year 1997. Dan Rather emceed. Recipients included Southern Regional Council, Home Box Office, Carlton Television, U.K., CBS News, Focus on the Family Radio Theater, The Thomas Carter Company, ABC, The Black/Marlens Company, NBC, Fatima Productions, Judith Helfand Productions, P.O.V./The American Documentary, Independent Television Service and PBS, among others. Winning shows included Homicide: Life on the Street, Ellen, Wishbone, The American Experience: The Presidents, The American Experience: Troublesome Creek—A Midwestern, Nothing Sacred, CBS News Sunday Morning, City Arts, and 60 Minutes. Full list of 1997 Winners: Link.