The Peabody Awards


In commitment to the integrity of the Peabody Awards, the selection of the annual nominees and winners is based on a rigorous deliberative process and face-to-face discussions among a diverse Board of Jurors.

From media professionals and scholars to critics and journalists, the Peabody Board of Jurors is comprised of top-level thought leaders from varied backgrounds to ensure that the annual nominees and winners reflect a broad cross-section of voices, experiences, and audiences. Each member is appointed by the executive director for a renewable three-year term of service. Board members do not receive payments and all sessions are protected from industry lobbying.

Adjudication of more than 1300 entries received annually begins with an initial screening round, leading to three intensive board meetings at which programs are viewed and discussed. The Board recognizes 60 nominees, and ultimately, 30 winners each year.

Peabody Awards are given in the categories of entertainment, documentary, news, podcast/radio, arts, children’s and youth, public service, and multimedia programming. There are no set number of nominees or winners in the categories.