Amazon Studios

Everyone in the Pfefferman family is restless. Maura is still coming to terms with her new life as a woman, and her ex-wife, Shelley, is grieving the loss of her second husband while still nurturing a complex connection to Maura, with whom Shelley had three kids when they were married (and when Maura went by the name Mort). Their children are adults now – at least they try to conduct themselves like grown-ups. But having come of age in a family full of secrets and hidden pain, the three Pfefferman kids often find it hard to be truthful with themselves and others, and that leads to all kinds of problems for them and the people they love. In its second season, this Amazon program skillfully mined the ways in which the pasts of individuals and families affect the present, and as it blossomed, Transparent continued, in irreverent and deeply humane ways, to explore how shifting notions of identity and gender can both free human beings from limitations but still allow them to unthinkingly inflict ongoing damage on each other. For its unflinching, kind and luminous examination of the meaning of love, family and truth, Transparent wins a Peabody Award.


Creator: Jill Soloway. Executive Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling. Co-Executive Producers: Bridget Bedard, Victor Hsu. Producers: Micah Fitzerman-Blue, Noah Harpster. Co-Producers: Jennifer Corey, Aaron Miller, Rhys Ernst, Zackary Drucker. Consulting Producers: Rick Rosenthal, Joan Scheckel. Directors: Jill Soloway, Andrea Arnold, Marielle Heller, Stacie Passon, Silas Howard, Jim Frohna. Writers: Jill Soloway, Bridget Bedard, Micah Fitzerman-Blue, Noah Harpster, Ali Liebegott, Ethan Kuperberg, Faith Soloway, Our Lady J, Arabella Anderson. Cinematographers: Jim Frohna, John Guleserian. Editors: Catherine Haight, Sunny Hodge, Hilda Rasula. Production Designer: Catherine Smith. Costume Designer: Marie Schley. Composer: Dustin O’Halloran. Casting Director: Eyde Belasco. Actors: Jeffrey Tambor, Judith Light, Amy Landecker, Gaby Hoffmann, Jay Duplass, Kathryn Hahn, Alexandra Billings, Carrie Brownstein, Melora Hardin, Cherry Jones, Bradley Whitford, Rob Huebel, Anjelica Huston, Michaela Watkins, Hari Nef, Emily Robinson, Alex MacNicoll, Trace Lysette.