Winner 1998

The Practice

ABC, David E. Kelley Productions

The creation of executive producer and writer David E. Kelley, The Practice is consistently clever and emotionally gripping. This compelling drama features a group of young Boston trial lawyers who fight for the disenfranchised, and often with each other, while viciously taking on prosecutors in the process. The show benefits from one of network television’s strongest ensemble casts, who adeptly transform Kelley’s vision into a weekly hour of smart repartee. Overseeing the firm is idealistic Bobby Donnell (played by Dylan McDermott), with a cool, Bond-like ruthlessness and a willingness to take on any client … as long as the money’s good. Girlfriend/partner Lindsay Dole (Kelli Williams) is a rising star in the firm, much to the dismay of Ellenor Frutt (Camryn Manheim), who struggles with both her salary and her self-image. Brooding Eugene Young (Steve Harris) slugs on as a single parent with a continuing crisis of conscience. Lara Flynn Boyle (Helen Gamble) is a passionate district attorney who wins and loses with dignity. Rounding out the superb cast are Michael Badalucco (Jimmy Berluti), Lisa Gay Hamilton (Rebecca Washington), and Marla Sokoloff (secretary Lucy Hatcher). For its ability to broach serious issues with candor and humor, and in recognition of the superior creative talent of David E. Kelley and his talented team of producers and writers, a Peabody is presented to The Practice.