Winner 2000

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart: Indecision 2000

Mad Cow Productions, Inc., in association with Comedy Central

Out of the convoluted sameness of media coverage of the last presidential election sprang the irreverent and inventive Daily Show with Jon Stewart: Indecision 2000. Offering biting political satire, these scintillating segments had something droll and amusing to say about almost everything and everyone associated with American politics and the presidential election. The highly original pieces covered the campaigns, conventions, election night and recounts with flagging and with exceptional insight. Providing a bird’s eye view of an ever-expanding circus, Daily Show host Jon Stewart and Indecision 2000 lampooned politicians as well as reporters for taking themselves too seriously. Added to the precise timing, word play and wit of Mr. Stewart’s comic genius were the equally adept correspondents Lewis Black, Steve Carell, Stephen Colbert, Vance DeGeneres, Mo Rocca and Nancy Walls. No one was safe, and no topic was sacrosanct as they chased celebrities, political figures and ordinary people-on-the-street in their quest for unpredictable and hilarious “news.” Executive producer Madeleine Smithberg, supervising producer Kahane Corn, studio producer Hank Gallo, director Chuck O’Neil, and senior producer Ben Karlin guided the talented team of writers including Eric Drysdale, Jim Earl, Dan Goor, Charlie Grandy, J.R. Havlan, David Javerbaum, Tom Johnson, Kent Jones, Paul Mercurio, Chris Regan, and Allison Silverman. For its gloriously entertaining coverage in the long American tradition of sidesplitting election punditry, a Peabody Award is given to The Daily Show with Jon Stewart: Indecision 2000.