Winner 2011

The Colbert Report—Super PAC Segments

Hello Doggie Inc., Busboy Productions, Spartina Productions, Comedy Central

In a satirical protest against megabucks politics, Stephen Colbert launched his own Super PAC, “Americans for a Better Tomorrow, Tomorrow,” and began soliciting donations on his nightly show in accordance with the U.S. Supreme Court‘s Citizens United ruling that allowed unlimited political contributions with very limited transparency. The Federal Election Commission ruled that Colbert could indeed create and operate his Super PAC, and he was off and running. “Americans for a Better Tomorrow, Tomorrow” became an active participant in the Iowa and South Carolina presidential primaries, making and airing outrageous political commercials that supported real candidates and issues. In other segments, Colbert exposed an important loophole in 501(c)4 corporations and, in “The Donating Game,” met a deep-pocketed, anonymous benefactor. Quipped Colbert: “I do not accept limits on my free speech but I do accept Visa, Master Card and American Express.” Through inventive comedy, sight gags and mock-strident rhetoric, The Colbert Report used its “megaphone of cash” to illuminate the far-ranging effects on our politics of the Citizens United decision. For taking television comedy into the real world of American electioneering and exposing the shadowy edges of a political system now awash in anonymous cash, The Colbert Report‘s Super PAC episodes receive a Peabody Award.


Executive Producers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart. Co-Executive Producers: Meredith Bennett, Rich Dahm. Supervising Producers: Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Emily Lazar, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien. Senior Producers: Matt Lappin, Liz Levin, Nicole Savini. Managing Producer: Jeff Cooperman. Field Producer: Aaron Cohen. Field Associate Producers: Megan Gearheart, Liz Russomanno. Segment Producer: Adam Wager. Footage Producers: Gabe Gronli, Scott Lawrie. Director: Jim Hoskinson. Writers: Stephen Colbert, Rich Dahm, Tom Purcell, Barry Julien, Paul Dinello, Michael Brumm, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Peter Gwinn, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Meredith Scardino, Maz Werner, Scott Sherman, Dan Guterman. Host: Stephen Colbert. Videographers: John Harrison, John Meikeljohn, Dante Pagano, Wade Latz. Editors: Andrew Matheson, Christein Goldstein, Jason Baker, Bryan Dinello. Senior Researcher: Jen Hodgkins. Production Manager: Jeremy Tchaban. Website Coordinator: Erica Myrickes