Winner 2019

POV: Inventing Tomorrow

Fishbowl Films, Motto Pictures, 19340 Productions, Shark Island Institute, HHMI Tangled Bank Studios, American Documentary | POV

In a world full of existential crises—climate change, pollution, environmental degradation—it feels like at every turn we are confronted with seemingly unsolvable problems. It’s enough to make one despair, but for the next generation of scientists. Inventing Tomorrow follows young scientists—girls and boys of all backgrounds from across the globe—as they develop real, practical, and indeed, inspired solutions to these crises. We follow them as they form and test their hypotheses, as they debate with their families over dinner, and ultimately as they travel on their path to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF), the world’s most prestigious science fair. For serving not only as a celebration of science, of the beauty of knowledge, of sheer ingenuity, but also as a celebration of the young people who are working to solve the problems gifted to them by prior generations Inventing Tomorrow wins a Peabody.


Executive Producers: Justine Nagan, Chris White, Julie Goldman, Christopher Clements, David J. Cornfield, Linda A. Cornfield, Sharon Chang, Ian Darling, David Guy Elisco, Dennis Liu, Andrea Van Beuren, Patty Quillin. Co-Executive Producers: Leslie Berriman, Nancy Blachman, Carolyn Hepburn, Nion McEvoy, Lynda Weinman, Jenifer Westphal. Associate Producers/Producers: Diane Becker, Melanie Miller, Laura Nix. Associate Producers: Beth McNamara, Elease Lui Stemp, Ann Rogers. Director: Laura Nix. Editor: Helen Kearns. Design and Technical Staff: Leanne Dare. Cinematography: Martina Radwan. Sound/Music: Laura Karpman.