Winner 2013

One-on-One with Assad

CBS This Morning, CBS News

Bashar al-Assad, Syria’s president, is arguably the world’s oddest dictator, a supremely ordinary looking supreme leader whose milquetoast manner is wildly at odds with the ferocity of his efforts to hold on to power in the face of a popular uprising. His banality also makes him an exceedingly tough interview. Just convincing Assad to sit for questions was a major coup, the biggest “get” of 2013. CBS This Morning’s Charlie Rose conducted the face-to-face session with exemplary gravitas and journalistic acumen, politely but doggedly pressing Assad about his one-time reputation as a progressive reformer and his recent savage military response, including the use of chemical weapons, against civilians as well as rebel militias. Assad showed himself a master dissembler, denying charges even when Rose cited independent confirmations. But the dictator’s dispassionate defense, deftly captured by Rose’s crew, was revealing in and of itself. For its timely, meaningful look into the face and mind of a tyrant, One-on-One with Assad receives a Peabody Award.


CBS This Morning/Executive Producer: Chris Licht.  Senior Broadcast Producer: Ryan Kadro. Producer: Paige Kendig. Editors:  Joe Bennett, Brian Cunningham. Anchor/Correspondent: Charlie Rose.

The Charlie Rose Show/Executive Producer: Yvette Vega. Producers:  Adam Waller, Tamara Sepper, Oz Woloshyn, Lara Gungor, Neil Goldman, Cora Engelbrecht.

60 Minutes/Executive Producer: Jeff Fager. Executive Editor: Bill Owens. Editor: Richard Koppel. Associate Producer: Paul Needham. Broadcast Associate: Jennifer Marz.

CBS News Network/CBS News Representative (Beirut): Sami Aouad. Producer: Randall Joyce. Security: Geoff Mabberley.  CBS News Representative (Damascus): George Baghdadi. Correspondent: Elizabeth Palmer. Producer: Agnes Reau. Cameraman: Andy Stevenson. Bureau Chief (London): Andy Clarke. Deputy Bureau Chief: Deb Thomson. Assignment Editor: Vicky Burston. Producer:  Fernando Suarez. Satellite/lines Bookings Coordinator: Simon Downs.Engineers: Michael Crean, Colin Richardson, Malcolm Weir.