Winner 2013

Latino Americans

WETA, LPB (Latino Public Broadcasting), Bosch & Company, ITVS

Latino Americans is a groundbreaking three-part, six-hour documentary series that chronicles Latino history in the United States from the 16th century to the present day. Through its thorough compilation of unwritten histories and interviews, the series provides perspectives that are often overlooked or outright discarded in this nation’s standard history. The different strands of people, politics and culture involved in the stories of early settlement, conquest and immigration are untangled and woven into a fair and more just understanding of the role of Latino Americans have played in America. The documentary further contextualizes Latino Americans in expansionism, Manifest Destiny, nativism, the Wild West, multiple wars, the rise of organized labor, the Great Depression, the post WWII boom, the Cold War, the Civil Rights movement, and globalization. In the process, it develops a necessary plurality of voices, histories and memories that reshape and redefine an American identity that connects and empowers millions of people today. For its well-researched, engaging storytelling as well as its important contribution to a truer understanding of American history, Latino Americans receives a Peabody Award.


Executive Producer(s): Jeff Bieber, Dalton Delan, Sandie Pedlow, Sally Jo Fifer. Series Producer: Adriana Bosch. Producers: Adriana Bosch, Nina Alvarez, Dan McCabe, John Valadez, Ray Telles. Supervising Producer: Salme Lopez. Coordinating Producers: Jim Corbley, Mary Sullivan. Re-enactment Producer: Cathleen O-Connell. Directors for Re-enactments: David Belton, Sonia Fritz. Narrator: Benjamin Bratt. Actors: Maurice Ripke, Maria Chavez, Alejandra Corujo, Eduardo Idunate, Flavio Hinojosa, Jodie Moore, Lydia Blanco. Videographers: Tim Cragg (re-enactments), Vicente Franco, Elia Lyssy, Edward Marritz, Paul Mailman, Stephen McCarthy. Editors: Peter Rhodes, David Espar, Dan McCabe, Manuel Tsingaris, John Neuburger. Web Designer: Joe Frye