Winner 2021

January 6th Reporting

PBS NewsHour

On January 6, 2021, as rioters stormed the U.S. Capitol in an attempt to stop Congress from certifying Joe Biden as the victor of the 2020 presidential election, PBS NewsHour correspondent Lisa Desjardins was the only reporter broadcasting live on television from the halls of the building, outside lockdown. Desjardins remained calm as she guided viewers through what was happening in real time, despite risks to her own safety, and even interviewed one insurrectionist, asking direct questions to understand the viewpoints that had led him there. Her reporting provides a critical and singular document of the historic day’s events as they happened, invaluable for viewers’ understanding in the moment as well as for historians of the future. Desjardins also shared her experience and insight from this unique vantage point afterwards in a roundtable anchored by Judy Woodruff, along with fellow NewsHour correspondents Amna Nawaz, who had been reporting from outside the Capitol as the mob attacked, and Yamiche Alcindor, who was at the White House. For documenting a turning point in American democracy with bravery and clarity, “January 6th Reporting” receives a Peabody.


Network/Station/Platform:  PBS NewsHour.  Vice President of Production Operations:  Matt Speiser.  Production Manager:  Kamili Johnson.  Executive Producer:  Sara Just.  Senior Producers:  Mike Melia, Elizabeth Summers, Stephanie Kotuby, Emily Carpeaux.  Deputy Senior Producer:  Matt Loffman.  Producers:  Sam Lane, Alexis Cox, Jaywon Choe, Frank N. Carlson, Mike Fritz, Rachel Wellford, Meredith Lee, Kate Grumke, Geoffrey Guray.  Associate Producers:  Tess Conciatori, Saher Khan, Alex D’Elia, Patty Gorena Morales, Ryan Connelly Holmes, Vika Aronson.  Production Assistants:  Rebecca Newman, Harry Zahn, Ian Couzens.  Director:  Mary Lawrence.  Assistant Directors:  Janice Huey, Tatiana Terleckyi.  Editors:  Dan Knapp, John Morgan, Erica R. Hendry, Emily Carpeaux.  Anchor and Managing Editor:  Judy Woodruff.  Correspondents:  Yamiche Alcindor, Lisa Desjardins, Amna Nawaz, John Yang, William Brangham.  Design and Technical Staff:  Julia Griffin, Tim McPhillips, Vanessa Dennis, Travis Daub, Gretchen Frazee.  Senior Graphic Designer:  Michael Harry.  Engineers in Chief:  Nancy Gerstman, Heather Harris.  Technical Director:  Jay Nevel.  Audio Operators:  Martin Carr, Sylvia Reis, Tom Satterfield.  Video Operators:  Enoch Chan, John Hyater.  EVS Operators:  Ali Jaafar, Steve Shaw.  Tape Operator:  Brian Smith.  Teleprompter Operators:  Avo Aghguiguian, David Tillette.  Transmission Operator:  Tim Bowen.