Institutional 2012

Institutional Award: Doctor Who

A BBC Cymru Wales production for the BBC

Much like its eponymous character, Doctor Who has gone through numerous iterations since its creation in 1963. Including its original run of 26 seasons, various specials and television films, and the past seven years in its current incarnation, Doctor Who has been not just a standard-bearer for long-form science fiction on TV, but it also has served as a cultural ambassador for British television the world over. From its iconic contributions to the pop culture lexicon (like the TARDIS, perhaps the most innovative time machine since H.G. Wells’) to the debates it has inspired among its ardent fan base (who’s your favorite Doctor?), the past 50 years have revealed Doctor Who as the very definition of a television institution. And the series’ adaptability ensures that the Doctor and his companions will be fighting Daleks, and thrilling audiences, for years to come. For fearlessly exploring space, time, and the television world for half a century, Doctor Who receives a rare Institutional Peabody Award.


Creators: Syndey Newman, C.E. Webber, Donald Wilson. First Producer: Verity Lambert. Current Executive Producers: Steven Moffat, Caroline Skinner, Faith Penhale. Current Series Producer: Marcus Wilson. The Doctors (in chronological order): William Hartnell, Patrick Troughton, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy, Paul McGann, Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant, Matt Smith.