Winner 2017


HBO Entertainment in association with Issa Rae Productions, A Penny For Your Thoughts Entertainment and 3 Arts Entertainment

Creator and star Issa Rae has helped fuel a TV revolution through her HBO series “Insecure” by focusing on something very basic: the struggles of an awkward black girl and her best friend to find love and personal fulfillment in Los Angeles. Indeed, the YouTube series that helped earn Rae a deal with HBO was called “Awkward Black Girl,” and it featured her playing a twentysomething named J, stuck in a dead-end job, convinced that the two worst things in the world were to be awkward and black. The pilot for “Insecure”—developed with Larry Wilmore, former star of Comedy Central’s “The Nightly Show”—expanded on that world. Rae plays Issa Dee, a twentysomething working for a rudderless nonprofit, who is best friends with up-and-coming lawyer Molly Carter (Yvonne Orji); in the show’s impressive first season, Issa is dumped by her longtime boyfriend after admitting she’d cheated on him. But the series’ second season builds on that promising start, showing the unique friendship between Issa and Molly, Issa’s struggles to move on, and her attempt to confront anti-Latino racism from a black person at her job. For creating a series that authentically captures the lives of everyday young, black people in modern society, “Insecure” wins a Peabody Award.


Creators: Issa Rae, Larry Wilmore. Executive Producers: Issa Rae, Prentice Penny, Melina Matsoukas, Michael Rotenberg, Dave Becky, Jonathan Berry. Co-Executive Producers: Jim Kleverweis, Dayna Lynne North, Regina Hicks, Ben Dougan. Supervising Producer: Amy Aniobi. Directors: Melina Matsoukas, Marta Cunningham, Prentice Penny, Tina Mabry, Kevin Bray. Writers: Issa Rae, Amy Aniobi, Dayna Lynne North, Laura Kittrell, Ben Dougan, Regina Y. Hicks & Ben Cory Jones, Prentice Penny. Talent: Issa Rae, Jay Ellis, Yvonne Orji, Lisa Joyce, Natasha Rothwell, Y’lan Noel, Amanda Seales. Directors of Photography: Ava Berkofsky, Patrick Cady, ASC.