Winner 2013

House of Cards

Donen/Fincher/Roth, Trigger Street Productions, Inc., Media Rights Capital, Netflix

The American adaptation of a British miniseries, House of Cards tells the tale of Frank Underwood, a Southern politician and House Majority Whip whose thirst for political revenge and machinations for power are boundless. Kevin Spacey plays the perfect antihero ruthless yet charming, amoral yet seemingly in-line with the norms and practices of cut-throat politics. Robin Wright is beguiling as the ambitious other half of this Washington power couple. As Underwood breaks down the fourth wall, directly addressing the camera, he guides the viewer through a modern-day tutorial of Machiavellian politics. House of Cards popularized the Netflix model for original content by releasing all 13 episodes at once, inviting audiences to binge-watch the story as one cinematic whole. For broaching new possibilities for television storytelling and investing them with characters and plot turns at once wildly exaggerated and yet as unsurprising as the evening news, House of Cards receives a Peabody Award.


Executive Producers: Beau Willimon, Andrew Davies, Michael Dobbs, John Melfi, Kevin Spacey, Dana Brunetti, Joshua Donen, Eric Roth, David Fincher. Co-Executive Producers: Rick Cleveland, Sarah Treem, Robert Zotnowski. Producers: Karyn McCarthy, Keith Huff. Co-Producers: Peter Mavromates, H.H. Cooper.
Directors: David Fincher, James Foley, Joel Schumacher, Charles McDougall, Carl Franklin, Allen Coulter.
Writers: Beau Willimon, Keith Huff, Rick Cleveland, Sarah Treem, Sam Forman, Kate Barnow, Gina Gionfriddo. Talent: Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, Kate Mara, Corey Stoll, Michael Kelly, Sakina Jaffrey, Kristen Connolly, Sebastian Arcelus, Sandrine Holt, Constance Zimmer, Mahershala Ali, Nathan Darrow, Michel Gill, Rachel Brosnahan, Reg E. Cathey, Jayne Atkinson, Gerald McRaney. Story Editor: Kate Barnow. Editors: Kirk Baxter, Sidney Wolinsky, Byron Smith, Michelle Tesoro.