Winner 1994


NBC, New York, New York, Constant c Productions, Amblin Television, in association with Warner Bros. Television

The gut-wrenching experiences and pressure-packed moments which mark emergency medicine are captured with accuracy and immediacy in this innovative series. By shattering the conventions of television narrative with dynamic production techniques and characterizations, ER recreates the environment of the urban emergency room. Viewers gain insight into the determination needed to save lives under trying conditions as well as the vulnerability which often marks the personal relationships of medical practitioners. Exceptional writing explores the personality of each character while top-notch production techniques create an emergency room panorama that is simultaneously highly realistic and stylistically unconventional. Special mention is made of executive producers Michael Crichton and John Wells; co-executive producers Mimi Leder, Robert Nathan, Lydia Woodward; co-producers Chris Chulack and Paul Manning; and the excellent cast, including Anthony Edwards, George Clooney, Sherry Stringfield, Noah Wyle, Julianna Margulies and Eriq La Salle. For capturing the drama of contemporary emergency medicine with particular skill, a Peabody to ER.