Winner 2013

Coverage of Supertyphoon Yolanda (Haiyan)

GMA Networks, Inc.

Typhoons are a fact of life in the Philippines, but the usual warnings and procedures didn’t begin to prepare citizens for Yolanda (international name “Haiyan”). Likely the strongest in history, Yolanda not only hit the Visayas region with monstrous force on November 8 but, as if it had a malevolent mind of its own, the storm feinted and struck again and again, making landfall a total of six devastating times. The destruction was mind-boggling: more than 6,000 lives lost, more than a million houses battered or destroyed, total damages estimated at $1.6 trillion. Faced with daunting logistical challenges and sharing in the national shock and grief, GMA reporters and crews from State of the Nation with Jessica Soho, 24 Oras (24 Hours), Saksi (Eyewitness), 24 Oras Weekend and Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho (One at Heart, Jessica Soho) provided desperately needed spot news coverage and information, gaining strength and perspective as they worked. They followed up with solid reporting and public-service broadcasts about the aftermath, heroic acts and relief efforts. The coverage includes footage of storm-surge rapids ripping through streets and apocalyptic winds decapitating houses that’s so close-up and intense that it’s a wonder the videographers survived. For overcoming the challenges posed by a historic storm to provide coverage that was thorough, candid and compassionate, a Peabody Award goes to GMA Network’s coverage of SuperTyphoon Yolanda.


Executive-in-Charge of Production: Marissa L. Flores. First VP, News Programs: Jessica A. Soho. First VP, News and Public Affairs: Nessa S. Valdellon. VP, News Operations: Grace Dela Peña-Reyes. Senior AVP, Public Affairs: Leogarda S. Matias. AVP, News Programs and Specials: Michelle S. Seva. AVP, News Production: John Oliver T. Manalastas. AVP, Public Affairs: Arlene U. Carnay. Senior Program Managers: John Ray Arrabe, Lee Joseph Castel, Antonio Magsumbol. Program Managers: Kathrina Ann dela Cruz, Ahd Marco-Bautista, Christina Pascual. Executive Producers: Cyrian Agujo, Jeconiah Placio, Maria Teresa Ranoco, Myla Torres. Associate Producers: Remanuel Bandiola, Darvin de Mesa, Ana Marie Fuderanan, Sarah Gulle, Tina Panganiban-Perez, Romabell Yumol. Anchors: Jessica Soho, Mike Enriquez, Mel Tiangco, Vicky Morales, Arnold Clavio, Jiggy Manicad, Pia Arcangel. Reporters: Susan Enriquez, Maki Pulido, Raffy Tima, Jiggy Manicad, Ivan Mayrina, Jun Veneracion, Chino Gaston, Ian Cruz, Steve Dailisan, Julius Segovia, Cedric Castillo, Victoria Tulad, Micaela Papa, Rida Reyes, Katrina Son, Bam Alegre, Fabienne Paderes, Love Añover. Head for News Desk Operations: Tex Jimenez. Senior Desk Editors: Malou Talosig, Marvin Candelaria, Miguel Aguana, Ian Aguilar, Rhowena Parungao-Sarmenta, Vic Baldoz, Tom Perdigon, Michael Sadim, Jenalyn Balaoro, Hannah Petrache, Louie Laresma. Videographers: Danilo Fausto, Ace Adriano, Rico Banua, Virgilio Barte, Rudy Cabungcal, Ronwaldo Capistrano, Ramil Gonzales, Ronald Herrera, Joemil Jaspe, Ding Lagoyo, Xandrix Manalili, Leo Marzan, Freddie Olayra, Vergel Olunan, Jojo Quibral, Joseph Salazar, Art Serrano, Gemmo Soho, Ederick Villegas. Producers: Lian Buan, Ramona Dela Paz, Alex Francisco, Carlo Hernandez, Allan Lazaro, Czarina Magtangob, Tristan Nodalo, Andy Penafuerte, Edmalynne Remillano, Joselito Tan, Lea Paz Torre, Val Veneracion, Mai Ventura, Frauleine Villanueva. Directors: Lirio Dayao, Joel San Luis, Mimi Yapchiongco. Assistant Directors: Yen Bringas, Mike Domingo, Ricky Patrimonio. Head Writer: Don Dave Ventura. Writers: Nesreen Abdulrauf, Jerrie Abella, Ivy Andrada, Mary Pima Bagamasbad, Geraldine Bonsol, Cathalene Princess Buti, Miguel Victor Flores, Hershey Homol, Ruiz Jerard Mendoza, Cesar Glenn Mortega, Immanuel Pastolero, Irene Pavia, Kevin Santos, Edison Tangon.