Winner 2005

Battlestar Galactica

R&D TV, in association with NBC Universal Television Studios

Battlestar Galactica is not just another apocalyptic vision of the future but an intense drama that poses provocative questions regarding religion, politics, sex and what it truly means to be “human.” The saga is set in motion when Cylon robots revolt against their creators with a devastating series of nuclear attacks. What’s left of the human race, fewer than 50,000 refugees, roam the universe in a fleet led by the spacecraft ‘Galactica.’ They must re-imagine their society even as they search for a new home. This dramatic premise, coupled with the threat from a new form of humanoid Cylons, affords diverse narrative and philosophical possibilities. Writers Ronald D. Moore, Toni Graphia, David Weddle, Bradley Thompson, Carla Robinson, Jeff Vlaming, Michael Angeli, and David Eick take full advantage to give us plotlines that are deeply personal and relatable, while never compromising their affinity and passion for science fiction. Moore, Graphia, and Eick are the executive producers. Harvey Frand is the producer. Directors Michael Rymer, Marita Grabiak, Allan Kroeker, Rod Hardy, Sergio Mimica-Gezzan, Robert Young, Brad Turner, Edward James Olmos, Jeff Woolnough, and Jonas Pate dazzle us, giving us a show that captivates on multiple levels. The cast includes Olmos, Mary McDonnell, Katee Sackhoff, Jamie Bamber, James Callis, Tricia Helfer, and Grace Park. For pushing the limits of science fiction and making it accessible to all, Battlestar Galactica receives a Peabody Award.


Executive Producers: Ronald D. Moore, David Eick. Co-executive Producer: Toni Graphia. Consulting Producer: Glen A. Larson. Producer: Harvey Frand. Associate Producer: Paul M. Leonard.Director: Michael Rymer. Writers: Ronald D. Moore, Christopher Eric James, Glen A. Larson. Editors: Dany Cooper, Jacques Gravett, Andrew Seklir. Cast: Edward James Olmos, Mary McDonnell, Katee Sackhoff, Jamie Bamber, James Callis, Tricia Helfer, Grace Park, Michael Hogan, Aaron Douglas, Tahmoh Penikett, Kandyse McClure, Paul Campbell, Alessandro Juliani, Sam Witwer, Nicki Clyne, Richard Hatch, Matthew Bennet, Lorena Gale, Donnelly Rhodes, Jill Teed, Bodie Olmos, Luciana Carro, Calum Keith Rennie, Kate Vernon, Leah Cairns.