Winner 2019

Apollo 11

CNN Films

Apollo 11 reminds us of a time before SpaceX when America celebrated scientific accomplishment, when engineers, test pilots, human “computers,” and government agencies collaborated to pull something off that had never been done before. Commissioned to produce a film celebrating the 50th anniversary of NASA’s first moon landing, the filmmakers tapped a rich archive of never before shown 70 mm film footage and audio files, reproduced here without talking heads or authoritative narration. In this compelling and immersive documentary, we are there, as if through a time machine. We can scrutinize the faces of people weeping while watching the blast off and ultimately witness men walking on the moon and as importantly, returning home safely. We also can see the white men chain-smoking in Mission Control and recall the “hidden figures” who were not in that room. Many know the story in broad outline, some of us recall it vividly, but this compelling film passes the torch to a new generation. For this much needed reminder of the aspirations and courage of a generation that claimed the moon “for all mankind,” Apollo 11 deserves a Peabody Award.


Executive Producers: Amy Entelis, Courtney Sexton, Josh Braun, Tom Quinn. Associate Producers/Producers: Todd Douglas Miller, Thomas Petersen, Evan Krauss, Alexandra Hannibal. Director: Todd Douglas Miller. Editor: Todd Douglas Miller. Cinematography: Michael Collins, Buzz Aldrin, Neil Armstrong, Urs Furrer, Jeri Sopanen, Theo Kamecke, James Allen, Adam Hollender, Victor Johannes, Edwin Lynch, Jerry Bray, Bob Bird, Charles Turner, Bob Newman, Bob Harmon. Sound / Music: Matt Morton, Eric Milano.